US Research and Education Identity Management Federation Announces New Steering Committee Members

WASHINGTON–(BUSINESS WIRE)–lt;a href=”” target=”_blank”gt;#IAMlt;/agt;–Internet2
announced the selection of three new members to the InCommon steering
which provides strategic direction, oversight, and
recommendations for critical identity management services and offerings
that benefit research and higher education.

Incoming steering committee members are:

  • Brad Christ, associate vice president for information technology and
    chief information officer at Eastern Washington University.
  • Christine Miki, president at Benelogic.
  • Chris Sedore, chief information officer at University of Texas at

to 1,000 institutions across the U.S.
benefit from InCommon’s
secure, privacy-preserving trust fabric that enables institutions to
make appropriate decisions about the release of identity information and
the control of access to protected online resources. This includes
single sign-on convenience, privacy protection, and access control to
protected resources through the InCommon Federation; enterprise solution
for server and web certificates through the InCommon certificate
service; and the global federated wireless network access service,

“A common goal across all InCommon services and offerings is to help
members of the research and higher education community work together
whether their team is distributed around the state or across the globe,”
said Kevin
Morooney, VP of trust and identity at Internet2
. “The steering
committee not only represents the diversity of users across the
community, it provides strategic guidance on setting priorities and
ensures that the needs of the community are addressed. I’m grateful to
all our steering committee members who volunteer their time and
expertise to support the mission of InCommon on behalf of their

Taking on executive roles for the steering committee this year are Mike
Erickson, chief information officer at Colorado School of Mines, who
will serve as vice-chair; Ted Hanss, associate chief information officer
at Yale University, who will serve as chair; and Laura Paglione,
consultant at the Spherical Cow Group, who will serve as secretary.

Outgoing steering committee members are Klara Jelinkova, vice president
for international operations and IT and chief information officer at
Rice University, and Michael Gettes, associate director of identity
services at the University of Florida, who completed six-year terms
each; and Celeste Schwartz, vice president of information technology &
college services at Montgomery County Community College, who completed a
three-year term.

For more information about InCommon, see


Sara Aly

error: Content is protected !!